Introducing The Sage Herbalista – A Momma Guest Blogger Who Rocks!

Dawn Gallahue, the Sage Herbalista, is a dear friend of mine who also happens to be a Momma, a blogger, an author, and a healer. I just love her to pieces and am honored to feature her here today. Dawn is a licensed massage therapist, life coach, energy worker, and children’s book author. She is also a cannabis/CBD advocate and educator.  She began her journey with energy healing over 15 years ago on a mission to heal herself. Both compassionate and optimistic, Dawn has an undeniable knack for tuning into other people’s emotions, enabling her to help clients rid themselves of deep-rooted issues and pain, allowing them to ultimately transform their lives.

Dawn recently posted an awesome article about chakras! Read on dear readers – this woman has sooo much to offer in terms of tuning inward and really exploring your inner workings so that you may heal effectively and expediently! When you get a chance, stop by her blog to show her some love. Also (one last plug because I can’t help myself) – If you’ve got tiny humans with big feelings and you’d like to help them navigate those feelings, make sure you scoop up her book. You can preview and purchase it below! Enjoy dear readers!

Tell Me About My Chakras

by Dawn Gallahue, LMT –

Your chakras with colors and locations
Your chakras with colors and locations

Believe it or not, we all have an energetic anatomy, within and surrounding our bodies. It consists of chakras, an aura, meridians and many acupuncture/acupressure points. We also have a soul that is the essence of who we are, that hangs out in our body as well. 

The focus here will be to give a basic break down of the chakras in a simple and easy way to understand and remember. Once you know what they are, you can learn many ways on how to keep them healthy and balanced to benefit your body, mind and soul. To understand more about the chakras and gain a deeper understanding of this system, please check out the references at the bottom of this article.  

Since everyone has chakras, this is great information for people of all ages to learn about and connect with. When we have a better understanding of our whole selves, we allow more healing and balance to come into our lives and bodies.

What are the Chakras? 

Let’s start with the most basic definition of the chakras. There are seven main chakras or “wheels” of energy in our bodies starting at the base of the spine, going up to the top of our head. Each one has its own color of the rainbow, starting with red at the bottom and ending with violet at the crown. 

*Emotions and feelings connected to each chakra in their open and closed states. 

Since each chakra is a wheel of energy, its purpose is to flow. Sometimes the flow is disrupted, and the energy can become stagnant or blocked. When a chakra is open and flowing or balanced, it holds certain characteristics and emotions. When it is closed, blocked or stagnant, it can cause some unpleasant emotions or characteristics.  Each of the seven main chakras area also connected to nerves and different organs of the body. When our chakras are open and flowing, they help support the overall wellness of our bodies. 

Ever have a “gut feeling?” That’s the intuition of your will chakra. What about those moments when you get all “choked up” and can’t get your words out? That’s your throat chakra. Or what about when you have a “broken heart?” That is some heavy emotion being carried around in your heart chakra. 

The good news is, there are plenty of ways you can check in on your chakras and get them balanced and aligned. Here are a few ways you can do that: 

1. Meditate and connect with each of your own chakras and feel them for yourself. You can do this with a guided meditation (there are plenty on YouTube), your own personal meditation practice, or with a holistic practitioner. 

2. Receive energy work, such as reiki, polarity and/or cranio-sacral therapy 

3. Practice yoga, Thai Chi or Chi Gong

4. Try out some breath work

5. Utilize the healing power of the rainbow with color therapy

6. Using crystals and stones that correspond to each of the chakras

7.  Heal through the sense of smell with essential oils

In my children’s book, Many Colors of Me, you will find three power words for each chakra to connect with. Each of these words were chosen specifically because they are feelings that can be strengthened in each of the corresponding chakras. This book is a great introduction for children and parents alike to learn about the chakras, meditation, breath work and utilizing positive affirmations with power words.

For more information about how I can help you balance your chakras, please visit the “services” and “classes” tabs. 


The anatomy of the spirit, Carolyn Myss,  

RYSE, Tools For Life,  Nancy Risley,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: